Why would I change my comfort zone for Love?

Just after having spent almost the whole exchange together we both were conscious that distance could be a big test for our relationship. In fact, it was.

Tia went back home and her family prepared a big welcoming party because they are like sweet sugar cotton. Then she got a job in customer service for one of our “things”, selling ice cream. (During our time in Maribor, we ate huge amounts of ice cream from Ilich – one of the best cafeterias of Slovenia. We were so frequent customers, that we got some volume benefits on the ice cream portion.) Continuing with Tia’s arrival, so her family and friends were joyful with her coming back.

When I arrived in Tenerife my family and friends also were excited about me coming back. The difference was that I stayed there for a week and then I came back to Maribor, to do some extra exams. I spent a large number of hours in library, but also with Ryan and friends. Nevertheless, when I was at home the lack of Tia was so deep on the chest. You are able to actually feel gravity oppresing weight down to you. I tried to fulfill the emptiness with hard work in the library and having fun in the afternoon, but still. That last month there, thank god that Ryan was there, he helped me a lot.

Then 2016 academic year was ended.

September in Tenerife, It means sun, good weather, thousand of alternatives, but I was missing Tia like one who missed those summers when you were a kid. I felt like that was my permanent state of being. I wasn’t able to be in social enviroments, it was difficult to talk with people who I didn’t know and to be in meetings with more than 4 people. I was rushing the time so somehow I would be closer to reach Tia sooner. Each of all  my decisions were focused on being together: I changed to distance university, so I could continue studying; I organized all my money so I knew how long I could be there independently; we found a place to live; I bought the flight tickets.

Here I am, sometimes I feel overwhelmed for culture and for not having income.
But I am happy, because all my wishes right now are just material or vain.
I am happy because I am every day with a woman who does every action with love and kindness. I am happy because even though the problems and the battles we stand up together and solve it and reinforce our connection.
I am happy because I am doing what I want the most with the person I love the most.

-David

Leave a Reply

